BLU’s Animated Graffiti Inspires New Ad for BBC 6 Music

I’ve realised that I’m becoming a self-qualified neo-rantist when it comes to TV ads, as such this week I wanted to have a good sniff at the new ad from BBC 6 Music which shows animated graffiti character made of big snout and ears crawling its way around London streets in search of music.

As The Guardian mentioned the ad was created by a creative agency called Rainey Kelly Campbell Roalfe/Y&R, but interestingly, no one seemed to have dug deeper to find that an exactly same creative was originated by BLU, a sketch and graffiti artsit, who created my fav MUTO animated graffiti videos many many months ago. While the new BBC ad looks and sounds to be “cutting edge”, I’m not quite sure how BLU artist feel about having their works emulated by ad agencies.

Vodpod videos no longer available.


  1. Quozza

    Enjoyed the Muto stuff… saw similar as a filmed installation at Urbis in Manchester many moons ago… but I hadn’t heard of Blu… thanks!

    The absorbtion & adoption of cutting edge art & culture by “cool” commerce? Was ever thus …and I guess on the positive side it is the BBC and 6 music is a fine station (that too old for R1 clown George Lamb apart!)…

  2. Hi there – I just ranted about exactly this point on Twitter, and @quozza pointed me to your post. If I was Blu I’d get a bit uppity about this…

    (I feel a bit of a blog rant coming on), as I get uppity about any ad paying “homage” to an artist with no real credit for them…

  3. Respect for blogging/flagging this Gerel; just noticed it whilst reading this week’s “Campaign” magazine (16 January 09) in ‘New Campaigns’ section p.24.

    OK, We’re in a post-modern society, and it can often be hard to be 100% original but people like Damon Collins really should be transparent and admit ‘sampling’ other’s work rather than claiming his agency’s new work is “Innovative”.

    There’s NOTHING wrong in admitting your sample sources/homages etc.

    Luc Besson successfully sued Publicis (http://tinyurl.com/89ls7v) for ‘borrowing’ his feature ‘The Fifth Element’ without permission.

    Will Blu follow suit? We await with baited breath……

  4. Gerel

    Thanks for all your comments. Great to know I’m not the only person who thinks ripping off artist’s work without paying a homage is a bit too outrageous.

  5. Hmmm, if they really haven’t worked with the original artists, that’s very bad indeed.

    Reminds me of a similar thing that happened a few years ago.. what does this remind you of?

    http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=QfEkPgfA7wo

  6. Gerel

    I didn’t know Honda ad was borrowed from Fischli/Weiss too!

  7. Hi Gerel,
    great post, like Chris above, I became a fan of Blu, saw the subsequent advert, got annoyed …. I too have blogged abit about this kinda thing – digital homage, etc as I say in my post @ http://stolentelling.blogspot.com/ I previously created an original work of fiction about ideas ownership in digital media / digital fiction. link to it, is here if you wanna publish or otherwise: http://www.clevercelt.com/Diddly_idle.html
    keep up the excellent work

  8. nathan p

    i saw this advert today and immediately i though blu must of done that and he must be making millions, but if his orignality of art has just been stolen then i think the company should think more wisely about there animations in the future and have abit or respect for the innovators if they have just gorrilerd the idea. if they have there toysss.

  9. nathan p

    blu should be making the bucks from this ad really he was the innovator…

  10. Strange , your posting turns up with a dark hue to it, what shade is the primary color on your webpage?

  11. How do you make this site look this cool! Email me if you can and share your wisdom. Id be appreciative!

  12. Whenever I initially left a comment I clicked the Notify me any time new comments are added checkbox and now every time a comment is added I receive 4 messages with the exact same comment.

  13. Please email me with a few hints about how you made your blog site look this awesome, I would be appreciative.

  14. Great Stuff, do you currently have a flickr account?

  15. account

    An cool post right there mate . Cheers for the post .

  16. If you dont mind, where do you host your web page? I am shopping for a great host and your webpage appears to be fast and up just about all the time

  17. I tried taking a look at your website with my blackberry and the structure doesnt seem to be correct. Might want to check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cell phone layouts are not working with your website.

  18. Please message me with any hints & tips about how you made this site look this cool , Id be appreciative!

  19. The look for your blog is a bit off in Epiphany. Nevertheless I like your site. I might have to install a normal browser just to enjoy it.

  20. buy leather wallets

    I feel one of your advertisements initiated my web browser to resize, you may well need to get that on your blacklist.

  21. Have you given any thought at all with converting your main blog in to Spanish? I know a couple of translaters here that would certainly help you do it for free if you want to contact me personally.

  22. When I at first commented I clicked the Notify me any time new comments are added checkbox and now each and every time a remark is added I receive 4 messages with the exact same comment.

  23. I like the site layout . How do you make it. It is rather sweet!

  24. While I genuinely like this publish, I think there was an punctuational error close to the end from the 3rd sentence.

  25. buy fridge freezer

    While I genuinely like this publish, I think there was an spelling error shut towards the finish of the third sentence.

  26. Have you considered adding some videos to your article? I think it might enhance everyones understanding.

  27. Do youve a spam problem on this web site; I also am a blogger, and I was questioning your situation; weve got developed some great strategies and were looking to swap options with other individuals, be sure to fire me an e-mail if interested.

  28. It looks to me that this web site doesnt load up in a Motorola Droid. Are other people getting the exact same problem? I like this web site and dont want to have to miss it when Im gone from my computer.

  29. How do you make a blog site look this awesome! Email me if you can and share your wisdom. Id appreciate it.

  30. How come you do not have your site viewable in wap format? cant see anything in my netbook.

  31. If you dont mind, where do you host your weblog? I am looking for a great host and your webpage appears to be fast and up just about all the time

  32. Do you have a spam issue on this internet site; I also am a blogger, and I was questioning your situation; weve got developed some good methods and we are searching to exchange solutions with other individuals, be sure to blast me an e-mail if interested.

  33. I was curious about if you ever considered adjusting the page layout of your blog? Its very well written; I enjoy what you have got to state. But maybe you could add a a bit more in the way of content so people might connect to it better. Youve got an awful lot of wording for only having one or two photographs. Maybe you could space it out better?

  34. Just to let you know your web page appears a little bit unusual on Safari on my notebook using Linux .

  35. Is it okay to place part of this on my personal blog if perhaps I publish a reference to this webpage?

  36. Do you might have a spam concern on this website; I also am a blogger, and I was asking yourself your scenario; we now have developed some great techniques and we are looking to exchange solutions with other individuals, be certain to shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  37. If you could email me with any tips on how you made this blog look this good , Id appreciate it.

  38. I was basically curious about if you ever considered replacing the page layout of your website? Its very well written; I love what you have got to say. But maybe you could create a little more in the way of written content so people might connect with it better. Youve got a great deal of text for only having one or two images. Maybe you could space it out better?

  39. I think one of your current ads caused my internet browser to resize, you might well need to get that on your blacklist.

  40. The design for your weblog is a tad off in Epiphany. Nevertheless I like your weblog. I might have to use a normal web browser just to enjoy it.

  41. When I open up your Feed it appears to be a lot of garbage, is the issue on my part?

  42. It appears to me that this website doesnt load up in a Motorola Droid. Are other folks getting the exact same issue? I enjoy this web site and dont want to have to skip it any time Im gone from my computer.

  43. I have got 1 recommendation for your website. It looks like there are a few cascading stylesheet issues while opening a selection of web pages inside google chrome and safari. It is working fine in internet explorer. Perhaps you can double check that.

  44. This is a wonderful website, would you be interested in doing an interview concerning just how you developed it? If so e-mail me and my friends!

  45. Jesus Christ there is a lot of spammy comments on this web site. Have you actually thought about trying to eliminate them or installing a extension?

  46. Is it okay to put part of this in my site if perhaps I post a reference point to this website?

  47. Please message me with any tips about how you made this site look this good , Id be appreciative!

  48. Is it alright to place part of this in my personal site if perhaps I publish a reference to this web site?

  49. I Will have to return again when my course load lets up – nonetheless I am taking your Rss feed so i could read your site offline. Thanks.

  50. I enjoy your wordpress web template, where did you get a hold of it?

  51. If you could email me with some hints about how you made your website look like this, I would be thankful!

  52. Just to let you know your webpage appears a little bit different on Firefox on my laptop with Linux .

  53. The design for your blog is a tad off in Epiphany. Nevertheless I like your website. I might need to install a normal browser just to enjoy it.




Leave a Reply

