London’s Exuberant Street Art Scene (I)

shoreditch postersLast weekend I decided to extend my cool hunting beyond the usual digging of the search engine ditches and hit the streets of East London to experience its booming street art scene for the very first time.

I wasn’t in the mission on my own, as I joined a two dozens of art hungry bloggers on a Street Art tour around Shoreditch, which was extremely lucky of me as I was given a crash course in street art by a graffiti whizz kid Michael Vandalong and a resident Art expert Romain of Fubiz . As a result I discovered street art in the form of graffiti ( D*Face, Sweet Toof, Sickboy and Eine), stencils (Banksy, TEK13) , posters (Obey, Jim Cereal and Mike Marcus), mosaics (Invader) last but not least paintings from Barry McGee and Patr2ism.

The tour was part of a wider campaign called Gofindit from Ford Ka, which aims to encourage people to explore the city beyond just the obvious.

As a final note, I’d like to give massive thanks to Robin and Sandrine at We Are Social for bringing in an amazing Art and Mars bar filled afternoon. You can see eclectic mix of photos from our tour on Flickr and a short video clip below.

If you’re interested in organising your own street art tour, please be sure to visit StreetArtLocator , a google street art map mashup for a start.


  1. Hi Gerel,

    The event was definitely fun fun fun! Good meeting you too at last🙂

  2. Gerel

    Yeah, it was pretty awesome. I’m uploading my photos onto Flickr tonight. Speak soon I’m sure!

    G*

  1. 1 gofindit.net Shoreditch street art tour | We Are Social UK

    […] see write-ups from Michael, Lolly, Chris, Mehrdad, Gerel, Cédric and Martin or photos from Lolly, Mehrdad, Chris, Cédric, Violette and Robin. Thanks again […]




Leave a Reply

